Sugar Creek Elementary held a walking tour and presentation to celebrate its 60th anniversary.
A presentation panel, consisting of 6 teachers (4 retired and 2 long-time current) shared stories about the past as their experience in teaching years totaled nearly 190 years in the classroom! Memories shared included remembering dress codes, lined up desks in rows, class sizes of more than 30 kids in one room, AND MORE!
Left to right: Marilyn Roum
, 31 years, Alicia Zweifel, 41 years, Sue Rotar
, 35 years, Jean Gavin, 25 years, Patsy Hook, 23 years and Jeanette Feifarek, 33 years.
Hundreds attended to see display boards of information about past and present principals, teachers and even students who had made headlines! Attendees also enjoyed home made cake that included more than 20 cakes baked by Sugar Creek families and combined together to make the final "cut" for the party!
History of the school:
The original Verona Elementary School was built in 1956 at a cost of $175,000 to include 6 classrooms, an office, a lunchroom
/gym, a kitchen and two bathrooms.
Addition #1 was built in 1963, adding a library, an art room and additional bathrooms, storage, and classrooms.
Addition #2 is the 1966 project which added four more classrooms.
Plans changed once again and the main hallway was added with 9 classrooms, a multi-purpose room, a larger kitchen, library, step room, offices, and bathrooms. This work also connected Verona Area Elementary to the current New Century building, increasing capacity from 400-600 students. The name Sugar Creek entered the picture at this time as well!
In 2000, the gym was added, replacing the multi-purpose room built in 1977 (previously the lunch room served as the gym).